Sunday, August 13, 2006

Rosarita Traditional Refried Beans

Again, there are more than one variety of this product. I do not know if they are all GFCF - this is what we buy. Read labels and call manufacturers because ingredients do change. Posted by Picasa


Anonymous said...

Conagra who produces this product says that it is not gluten free!!!

Kathi said...

I will contact conagra again - but this is from their website -

Which of your products contain gluten?
We are sorry to inform you that we do not have a source that lists the gluten content of our products. However, our product labels list common allergens, such as wheat, for those allergic to wheat gluten.

When I contacted them previously, they stated that the label lists all ingredients and there is nothing on the label to indicate that it is not GFCF. I only checked for the Traditional Flavor and not any of the others.

My son reacts to even the smallest amount of gluten and he has never reacted to these.

Anonymous said...

I am reading "The G Free Diet" by Elisabeth Hasselbeck, and she says to watch oout for "natural flavors" as they can be gluten based. My daughter was just diagnosed with Celiac, so I am reading everything I can find. The Rosarita can has a listing for "natural flavors" so that could be the source of the gluten, and if it is rye of barley based, they are not included in the allergens listing.